Snowshoe Festival

At the risk of being overly political, I imagine winter events in Vermont were easier to plan before global warming. Just saying.

Morgan and FloIn early January, I noticed a flyer for the some-number Annual Green Mountain Snowshoe Festival. Knowing my New Year’s Resolution for this blog and not having actually snowshoed before, I emailed our winter (and fall, summer, mud season) adventure sport friends Florance and Morgan and set a date to do some adventuring.

As the date began to creep up on us, so did the temperature, which melted all the snow. Still, the festival was set to go on, and with a cold front settling in we decided we would still get together and at the very least enjoy some good cold-weather hiking.

We arrived at the Green Mountain Club Visitor’s Center a little before 1 PM, hoping to hop onto one of the 4 mile hikes the flyer and website had advertised. What the flyer and website DIDN’T advertise was the fact that the hikes ran on a schedule and that the last hike left at 11 AM.

There would be no more 4 miles hikes today. (Bummer.)

On the plus side, we were told we wouldn’t have to pay to attend the event. (Getting better.)

AND were informed that the event still had smores, an after party and a quarter-mile nature hike to enjoy. (Not ideal, but we could work with this.)

Wanting to roll with the punches, and being dressed for cold weather, we decided that rather than go home and sit around, we would hang out and take advantage of the things left to do. And in the spirit of the day, Morgan suggested I do what we had come to do, and insisted I wear his snowshoes on the hike, despite the last of good snow.

Glaciers are cool.

Glaciers are cool.

While not exactly challenging, nature hike was actually a lot of fun. Dubbed the Short Trail, the hike was actually designed to let the everyday person experience a lot of things that you would find on the actual Long Trail.

Highlights included old and new growth forests, marshes, an old trail shelter, spectacular views and this glacier-placed boulder.

Plus, the hike was led by a kind and competent guide who pointed out local flora and fauna and provided a history of both trails and the club.

Notice no snow, but snow shoes...

Notice no snow, but snow shoes…

With our walk complete, we headed over to the bonfire to warm up and enjoy some smores. Though I spent years and years in Boy Scouts, I’m not sure I’ve ever assembled and eaten a smore in sub 20 degrees. Turns out it’s more work, but still totally worth it.

After roasting our marshmallows and our bodies, we wandered into the after party held in the upstairs area of the Visitor’s Center. In addition to a happening band, appetizers including salmon and a masseuse for the adults, there were also a number of kid friendly activities.

Hello ThereChildren could be seen getting their faces painted, making snow flakes and watching a brave volunteer show off a variety of local raptors. (In fairness, the adults were just as enthralled with the birds as the kids were.)

Also of interest to me was a huge raffle composed of a number of high quality items. I was particularly impressed with an offering for a catered lunch on the Long Trail, and particularly obsessed with what could only have been the world’s largest bottle wine.

As I stood dreaming of prizes, I remembered that I actually didn’t have to pay an admission fee for the day. Noting that I rarely win at things like this, I told my wife that I was going to “make a donation” to the raffle, pulled out my $20 and filled out my contact information before regrouping with my friends who were ready to hit the road.

Winner winner chicken dinner...

Winner winner chicken dinner…

Halfway back to Burlington, I received a text message from a friend still at the after party. I had won the bottle of wine.

Needless to say, I’ll be going back to the Snowshoe Festival again next year. Only maybe next year I’ll get there before 11…

Until Next Time,

A Stranger Observing Burlington, Vermont – Elek

Check out a few more photos…

2 thoughts on “Snowshoe Festival

Leave a comment